Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Karenja tutors in Silver Spring, MD

Karenja S.

Private tutor in Silver Spring, MD

Education

I graduated, Cum Laude, from Bethune-Cookman University in 2007 with a Bachelor of Science in Accounting and a minor in Music. I was an Honors student with a 3.47 GPA on a 4.0 scale, and I actually graduated with 148 credit hours. Because I graduated with so many credit hours, I haven't had to go to graduate school to become qualified to sit for the uniform CPA exam. I am two credit hours shy of the 150-hour requirement for licensure within the state of Maryland; however, I am a qualified candidate who's able to sit for the exam since the state only requires 120 hours to sit for it. I expect to receive my license by the end of 2016. In the meantime, I am almost done with a 170-hour course that will provide me with credentials to teach English as a Foreign language/Second language internationally upon its completion.

Experience

I actually enjoy learning, but I get a thrill out of seeing young students who have finally comprehended a subject they've struggled understanding. It's almost as if you can see a figurative light bulb click on once they finally understand a concept. I will be TEFL certified by the end of January, so I enjoy teaching my native language of English and look forward to helping those who wish to learn the language. The majority of my career has been in Accounting; however, I've always excelled in communications, and I've tutored children since I was about the age of 14. In fact, I was actually a freshman in high school tutoring many upperclassmen. In college, I tutored players on the football, basketball and baseball teams, and after graduating college, I was a part-time tutor for elementary-age children for Ace It! Tutoring, a subsidiary of Sylvan Learning Centers. I really want to continue tutoring because it's making the transition from Accounting to Education easier than I expected. Honestly, I didn't find any fulfillment in Accounting, but I alway have with Education. I've always excelled in school, and I believe everyone can do the same. All it takes is a little more focus and perhaps the right person to explain concepts in a way that makes more sense to you than what your teachers are telling you.

Availability

Monday after 10AM, Wednesday after 10AM, Thursday after 10AM, Saturday in the morning

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 30 minutes away for a flat fee, Up to 45 minutes away for a flat fee, Up to 1 hour away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Singing, dancing, reading, writing, watching sports [American football, basketball, fútbol (soccer), baseball, etc.], trivia games (Jeopardy, Family Feud, etc...), baking from scratch, arts 'n' crafts, bowling, volunteering in the community, coaching my church's Bible Bowl team of 2nd-3rd graders, going to amusement parks, places with go-karts, or playing laser tag. Going to Barnes & Noble.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!