Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Jerzy tutors in Silver Spring, MD

Jerzy L.

Private tutor in Silver Spring, MD

Education

Georgetown University (2015 – 2016) - Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in Computer Science - Two year program with foundational courses in programming, data structures, algorithms, hardware, and systems – equivalent to an undergraduate degree. - Current Cumulative GPA : 3.405 Georgetown University (2013) - Teaching English as a Foreign Language Certification - Twenty-week, 240 hour course with online and practicum components. - Coursework GPA : 3.53 - Practicum Teaching GPA : 3.52 St. Mary's College of Maryland (2009 - 2013) - Bachelor of Arts in Psychology - Cumulative GPA : 3.431

Experience

My varied educational background makes me a great tutor because it has provided me with a sophisticated understanding of how to communicate. My undergraduate degree in psychology taught me the enlightening quality of receptivity in listening and asking questions. These skills became furthered when I began learning how to practically apply various teaching methods on a student-to-student basis in my TEFL certification program. This included learning how to navigate group dynamics in a classroom environment while also staying sensitive to individual needs. Now I'm back in school again for computer science and this has had the side-effect of unexpectedly broadening my study strategies as I've realized that I apply myself differently when studying computing, as opposed to humanistic studies. Moreover, my varied background also affords me transmittable knowledge from the fields of psychology, teaching, English, mathematics, and computer science. I am also bilingual, fluent in both English and Polish.

Subject Expertise

Availability

Mon/Wed/Fri after 11AM, Tues/Thurs after 2PM

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

Like my academic career, my hobbies are quite diverse. I love to dance, sing, draw, write, rock climb, spin fire, master games, go running, program computer applications, exercise or do yoga, read books, meditate, and, most recently, teach myself to make electronic music. I used to collect comic books and study philosophy regularly.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!