Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Heather tutors in Silver Spring, MD

Heather K.

Private tutor in Silver Spring, MD

Education

University of Texas at Austin- MA, Psychology (2010) Wesley Theological Seminary - MDiv, Divinity (2013) Loyola University Maryland- MS, Clinical Mental Health Counseling (2017 anticipated)

Experience

I have always loved to learn, and I discovered a long time ago that I also love to teach. My jobs in college were always teaching—early literacy intervention through AmeriCorps and an after school program to encourage interest in science—and I have missed the opportunity to watch those "Aha!" moments. My educational background in psychology and religion I would hope speaks for itself. In each program I graduated with or currently maintain a GPA above 3.6, and in high school I earned a 5 on my AP Psychology exam. Human development has been a background focus in each of these programs as well. These subjects are my academic passions. As far as reading and writing goes, my tutoring experience is informal but extensive; I have been helping my friends to write and edit their papers since middle school, and they have been referring others to me since early high school. I have helped polish college admission essays, lab reports, literature reviews, and research papers. Additionally, I earned a 5 on both my AP English Language and Composition and my AP English Literature and Composition exams. The two outliers in my list, biology and medical terminology, are subjects of interest and study from before I discovered just how much I loved psychology. In high school I gave up music to take an extra class on anatomy and two years of Health Occupation Students of America, a class on basic biology, anatomy, and medicine. In college I voluntarily took medical terminology and the three course biology track (cell, macro, genetics) for science majors, despite not actually being one myself.

Availability

Any day in the morning, Any day in the afternoon

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Besides reading and writing, I love anything that lets me spend time with my friends: movies, board games, concerts, sports (watching, not playing), and trivia tend to top the list. I also really enjoy cooking and baking, and my understanding and repertoire of both has been rapidly expanding recently as I have been learning to accommodate new vegan friends.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!