Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Scott tutors in Silver Spring, MD

Scott W.

Private tutor in Silver Spring, MD

Education

The University of Adelaide - B.Sc., Microbiology , The University of Adelaide - Ph.D., Microbiology

Experience

I have twenty-five years of experience as a research scientist focused on the study of genetics and molecular mechanisms of microbial pathogens at various medical research facilities and academic institutions around the world. I have a wealth of real world knowledge in General Biology, Genetics, and Microbiology to share. In addition to my research work, I have held the position of Adjunct Professor in General Biology, General Science, and Microbiology at several universities, including: the City College of Chicago, Marymount University, and Stratford University. I have been a volunteer lecturer at the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Medicine. Also, I have participated with several of the case studies and grand rounds that have been presented by physicians at the Department of Infectious Diseases at NIH and UIC. Over the years, I have worked with a diverse range of students as they prepare for medical assistant, pre-nursing, and pharmacology courses. I believe that connecting coursework to real world situations, current events, and current research is key to a thorough understanding. I also work at connecting the course concepts to the students own body, health, and life helps to humanize the information and make it more relatable. Whenever possible, I use 3-D models, photographs, videos, and websites to provide texture to the more difficult to understand concepts in the course. I believe in providing a safe and comfortable learning environment where students have the confidence to practice their knowledge and to ask questions. I hold a Ph.D. and B.S. (with honors) in Microbiology from the University of Adelaide in South Australia.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

My hobbies and outside interests include all sports, running and exercise. I played Australian Rules Football and Cricket competitively for the University as a student and played soccer in the organized valley leagues in Montana. In my spare time I enjoy reading, attending theatre, and Museums and Art Galleries. My outside interests include reading about psychology, and studying finance markets, investing, and the stock market.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!