Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Jessica tutors in Silver Spring, MD

Jessica S.

Private tutor in Silver Spring, MD

5Jessica S.

2 reviews

Education

Azusa Pacific University 2014-2016 M.A. TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) Final portfolio used as student model University of Southern California 2006-2010 B.A. Film Production Minor Folklore and Popular Culture Graduated Cum Laude with undergraduate honors Grossmont Community College 2004-2006 4.0 GPA, Vice-President's List Julian Charter High School 2002-2006 4.12 GPA, National Merit Scholar SAT 2290 PSAT 94 percentile

Experience

My students consistently show huge improvement in their ability to read and write in English. I shape my teaching to be unique for each of my students depending on their age, level, background, and personality. Whether you need a tutor for your child as they are learn to read, or for yourself as you write business emails, I can help you and your family succeed. I also offer personalized editing services, at the same per-hour rate as in-person tutorials. In addition to reading and writing, I provide tutoring in vocabulary building, grammar correction, conversation practice, pronunciation improvement, and test prep/study skills. Group rates are available--please contact me for more information about any of the above! I have been teaching English to adults and children since 2012, and have guided over 200 students toward success in their language learning goals. In addition to my extensive practical experience, I have earned both a Master's degree and a training certificate in TESOL.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Saturday at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for a flat fee

Hobbies

My husband and I met while dancing, and we continue to dance blues, swing, and fusion together. We also enjoy having friends over for dinner and board games, or getting out of the city to appreciate nature through camping or hiking. In addition, we are very active in our local church, and try to volunteer when we can in our community.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!